English Idiom of the Day – Better Safe Than Sorry

Better Safe Than Sorry

It’s better to proceed in a safe manner than to proceed and be sorry you took that action.  Something that you say which means it is best not to take risks even if it seems boring or hard work to be careful.

Example Usage:  “Should I take my umbrella today?”  Answer: “Yes, I think  you should – better safe than sorry!”

“Do I have to wear my seatbelt, we are only driving around the corner?” Answer: “Yes, better safe than sorry”

Leave a Reply

